The Butterfly Effect

The Butterfly Effect

Ever wondered what would happen if you took a left instead of right? We make thousands of decisions every day, with every step we take and every word we speak. These decisions shape our destinies in ways we cannot begin to imagine. Had you not left your keys in your apartment, you wouldn’t have been thirty seconds later in crossing the street, and you would’ve been hit by the speeding car.

Sometimes I wonder what would happen if I had chosen to keep walking on the fateful day I met the people who changed my life. I was fourteen years old, on my walk home from the bus stop. Kids were blowing puffs of smoke on the church yard right next to my house. I was blasting music through my headphones when I heard one of them beckoning me. Confused, I kept walking.

“I’m gay, I won’t rape you!” Naturally, I thought to myself, I could be friends with these people. At the last moment before the church yard was out of sight, I turned around. But in an alternate world where I didn’t trust my gut, I shyly kept walking. I wouldn’t have smoked a cigarette until years later, wouldn’t have tried adderall until I was in college, wouldn’t have dabbled with ecstasy, cocaine, LSD, and mushrooms well into my later years. I wouldn’t have experienced drug addiction, overdoses, and poverty. I wouldn’t have experienced raves, festivals, and spiritual enlightenment. I would’ve continued leading a privileged middle-class white girls life. I would’ve gotten to college and failed all my classes because I was experiencing all these new and exciting things. I would fail out of college, deeming the education life not fit for me. I would live in my parents house, in my sisters shadow. It would take me years to figure out what I wanted to do with my life, to realize that education is sacred and important, to realize that drugs are not everything, and raves are not fun.

But I turned around.

Little did I know at that moment I was shaping my entire being and destiny. I was becoming the person I am today.

One thought on “The Butterfly Effect

Leave a Reply

